Darker Edge of Desire

I’m one of those writers who thinks you can’t mix erotica and horror. Both are sensual genres that play with the mind and creep into the reader’s “real world,” but they inspire two different urges. One wants you to slide out from under your comforter and read with one hand and the other wants you to crawl under that same comforter and three of its blanket cousins to hide until daylight. But Darker Edge of Desire is the exception to my rule.

Reading this book is like knocking boots with all the things that go bump in the night — vampires and werewolves, witches and demons, ghosts of lover’s past and even a tormented Poe. The stories making the delicious spirits under the bed and hiding behind curtains buzzy vibrator worthy phenomenon. I’m talking seriously old school gothic, but new and refreshing and original as well.

Yes, I tracked down the dark, naughty editor and got an interview —

1. Your anthology is one of the first books in the new Tempted Romance line. How does that feel?

It’s always exciting to have a book being published as part of the launch of a new publishing imprint. It’s a major event, because readers and industry professionals will be watching closely, which also puts the spotlight on my book perhaps even more so than under normal circumstances. I’m pleased to be a part of this exciting new direction from a publisher I’ve worked steadily with over the years.

2. I ask this of every author I interview because the answer always fascinates me. If you could make out with one pop culture icon, who would it be and where?

Not sure he’s technically a pop culture icon, but I find Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode quite fanciable – that voice is enough just by itself! There’s something incredibly sexy about him; it’s still there even now despite the years and all the problems he’s battled. As for where, far away from the madding crowd, perhaps in a cottage on a cliff overlooking a stormy sea. I’d take that over the Ritz Carlton any day.

3. What can your fans expect next from you?

Always expect the unexpected! I’ve got a zombies anthology coming out in 2015 called “Love, Lust and Zombies” as well as the second installment of my quirky crime/cosy mystery series “The Thelonious T. Bear Chronicles” co-written with my sidekick celebrity bear, Teddy Tedaloo. Two very different projects, but both great fun!

Excerpt:
Lightning in a Bottle
by Kim Knox

My guardian had always thought me ignorant of the goings-on in his house.

A vapid girl, alone in the world, who never noticed the dark-robed men arriving in the dead of night. Or one who never wondered at the hints of sage and frankincense that drifted through the passages of his London town house in the early mornings. I knew, had known for quite some years that Henry Bellasis, Viscount Fauconberg was a warlock. And that he now planned to draw me into his world by offering my virginity to a stranger.

I wrapped my fingers around the great brass key, the pitted metal warming against my skin as I stood in the shadowed passage that led to the cellar door. The place where my guardian had bound his great secret.

Rumors from the footmen over the past week had run that Henry kept a dragon in the arched rooms that also housed his collection of metal automata. A great beast that steamed and groaned and licked fire into cook’s little parlor when the wind blew north.

The maids shared darker stories as they made the beds or took a pan and brush to the ashes in the hearths. The dragon bound in the cellar did more than steam and groan. One maid had blushed scarlet and admitted in a rushed whisper that her dreams were full of a great, dark beast. A wicked beast…with a wicked mouth.

Not that I believed their tales. My guardian set himself as a collector, an inventor, or that was the face he liked to present to the Fellows of the Royal Society. Those in his inner circle knew better. I knew better. There was no dragon in the cellar. There was something…darker.

I rubbed the key’s bit, the sharp edge pressing into my thumb and digging a swift pain. I’d witnessed the rite that brought the creature into our world and now I stood with my heart almost in my throat, working to find the courage to push the key into the lock and turn it.

♥♥♥

